Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-10-2023, 11:57 AM

1,796 posts, read 2,227,120 times

Advertisements

I'm a high school teacher, and I like it, but I've seen teachers stay too long and I sure don't wanna be "that guy."
I can probably get 60% of my current pay if I pull the trigger. I could wait till 65 but I want to have a long, happy retirement and want to jump on it. It's 10k a year more if I wait till 65.
Keeping stuff vague on purpose. Want to see what gets said. No grandkids, will probably work in some way after while I pull the pension.
Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-11-2023, 06:56 AM

45,327 posts, read 60,500,026 times
I went at 62 (actually 61) with a couple more years than you'll have. I was done.

My pension increase wouldn't have as much waiting until 65 as yours, Maryland tops the pension out at 30 years and any increase after that is literally almost pennies (at 65 the increase would have been a bit over $200/year) so the only reason to work past that is for Social Security purposes.

Our pension covers about 35% of salary.

Old 04-11-2023, 07:17 AM

31,340 posts, read 14,247,595 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpl1228 View Post
I'm a high school teacher, and I like it, but I've seen teachers stay too long and I sure don't wanna be "that guy."
I can probably get 60% of my current pay if I pull the trigger. I could wait till 65 but I want to have a long, happy retirement and want to jump on it. It's 10k a year more if I wait till 65.