Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-06-2022, 09:37 AM

8,144 posts, read 8,338,067 times

Advertisements

My DH and I have been fostering dogs for various rescues since 2005. Until 2015, we also had 2 personal dogs. So, sometimes we had as many as 4-5 dogs in our household. Then life changed. Our personal dogs died, we retired and we moved to an urban condo. So we only fostered a single dog at a time when we weren’t enjoying a lot of travel.

In 2017 we got a bit tired of urban condo life in our setting and began the search for a 55+ community where there were many opportunities to join clubs, etc. And we moved from condo back to a house in an active senior community; and continued to foster dogs for various rescue groups. We love dogs, but also love to travel so fostering was our solution. Then the pandemic occurred and our local shelter had so many people wanting dogs they were no longer giving dogs to rescue groups.