Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-03-2006, 01:05 PM

34 posts, read 263,530 times

Advertisements

I'm a software developer and would probably make about 90K in MN? My wife won't be working for a few years as she wants to go to nursing school. I've been trying to find a place in MN but everything in the suburbs is close to 200K. I see some of the condo's in 150s.

Just wondering how people afford to live here??? Do both husband and wife work?

I'm just baffled on how expensive this city is to live in. I was thinking that moving to Minneapolis would be a great career move but am starting to wonder if I can afford it at all...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-03-2006, 08:01 PM

167 posts, read 944,652 times
Many, if not most families have dual incomes. I wonder how people afford it too... but living in crazy amounts of debt has become so accepted, people don't think anything of it. Hardly anything is paid for in cash anymore... I think most people live beyond their means. But you're looking at the western suburbs, which I think are the more affluent suburbs, so that's part of why the prices are so high.

Old 07-04-2006, 04:05 PM

336 posts, read 512,995 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by anil
I'm a software developer and would probably make about 90K in MN? My wife won't be working for a few years as she wants to go to nursing school. I've been trying to find a place in MN but everything in the suburbs is close to 200K. I see some of the condo's in 150s.