Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Health Insurance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-22-2024, 09:26 PM

1 posts, read 520 times

Advertisements

I am an NJ resident and have health insurance through my employer.

I went to an in-network urgent care (CityMD, part of Summit Health) with acute back pain, and the doctor at urgent care did an immediate CT Scan ("stat" CT Scan).

After the visit, they did a retroactive pre-authorization for the CT Scan to Aetna who have denied it. So Aetna wont cover the CT Scan or the radiology fee. The radiologist has tried to bill Aetna who have denied this already. CityMD hasn't tried billing Aetna for the CT Scan facility fee itself so far. But based on my experience with Summit Health, they will.

As per the rules of my plan, if I go to an in-network provider, the provider is responsible for getting pre-authorization for all procedures and they can't bill me for services provided if pre-authorization is denied.

However as part of registering at the urgent care facility, I had to sign an electronic legal agreement before they would see me. As part of this agreement, the patient is liable for paying all non-covered services. I have checked with Aetna and my HR and the blanket statement is that "patient is liable if there is a separate agreement signed with the provider"

So the question is - Can CityMD come after me with an inflated CT Scan bill even though insurance has denied this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-23-2024, 11:53 AM

4,858 posts, read 4,794,690 times