Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Diabetes
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-24-2023, 12:32 PM

11,103 posts, read 9,744,154 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm new to this part of C-D, so I don't know anything about the diabetes forum. I'm posting about my older brother. He's almost 72 and has been diabetic for years. I don't know how closely he controls his glucose. Not well, I'm afraid, as he's pretty stubborn. He has had some ulcers on his toes and recently had a middle toe amputated within the last 3 months. He's currently in the hospital having lost circulation to the same foot. They've re-established circulation, but he's having all the remaining toes on that foot amputated as well as some of the foot just beyond the toes because some of them have turned black and I guess are gangrenous.

So this leads to my question, has anyone here had to deal with partial foot amputation and how well did you manage afterwards? Are there special shoes for those without toes? Does it hamper your walking a lot after your re-hab? Do you use a cane or walker? Is this going to put him in a wheelchair for life? What do you find to be your best form of exercise, maybe a recumbent exercise bike?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-24-2023, 04:18 PM

307 posts, read 211,057 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadow View Post