Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-19-2009, 10:27 AM

2 posts, read 5,565 times

Advertisements

cowner of condo, valued at about 130k, and i owe about 30k. trying to refinance as i have a home owners assesment i need to pay for 14k.

having tons of trouble qualifying:

purchased place in 2004 with my dad as cosigner as at the time i was a law student. put down 20k.

have been making all hoa dues and mrtgage payments on time since day one.

mortgage balloons in 2014.

hoa assessed condo owners for boiler repairs at 14k price tag.

i need to refi or get an equity line to pay this off, but am having hard time qualifying as i am working in the world of temporary contract attorneys in which i am placed on temp jobs. pay is good, 35+ overtime, and have made over 40k for about 5 months worth of work this year. i moved to dc in order to take advantage of the better employment options avaiable now, and my father is caring for my condo.

lenders telling me the temp work and that i do not occupy the place are wokring against me.

i understand the premise however, i have great credit score, have made all payments, and though my work is temp it is more lucrative in terms of income than many other jobs, and i am not in a place where a layoff could occur - the jobs always come, they are just short term.

any advice on how or who or what i can do to make this happen?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-19-2009, 10:45 AM

28,453 posts, read 85,484,674 times