Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-12-2010, 02:32 PM

48 posts, read 168,157 times

Advertisements

Hi everybody:
So I have been working on moving to Chicago for the past 2 years or so from Boston. I finally sold my house here and have some good money saved up. I have an interview on Monday the 22nd, so I will be flying in on Friday the 19th. I am interviewing at a job in Orland Park. I know this is in the suburbs of Chicago so I have a few questions for all you Chicagoans who are more familiar with the area than I am.

First off, I want to explore some neighborhoods in the city while I am there next weekend. I know I am kinda jumping the gun, but with the chance that I am offered this job, I would still like to live in the city of Chicago. I am NOT a suburbs kinda guy. Just for some basic info about me, I am a 39 year old gay white male who really enjoys the amenities of the city. I love the neighborhoods of Lakeview and Lincoln Park, however these are on the north side of the city and that would make my commute to Orland Park a nightmare. So I am guessing my only options would be places like South Loop or Hyde Park. Does anyone have any other neighborhoods I should consider checking out while I am there this weekend? I would like to keep my budget at around $1500 per month for a 1 bedroom (hopefully including a parking space as I will have my car). I also don't need to live in a "gay ghetto" as I am pretty comfortable living in most areas as long as they are relatively safe.