Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 01-16-2010, 04:07 PM

6,233 posts, read 9,478,875 times

Advertisements

Hi Auto forum!

For the first time I'm buying my own used car. I'm sure I want a toyota, nissan or honda. But because I'm completely new to this, I'm asking for advice on what to know and what to watch out for when shopping for a car.

Should I shop at a dealership or go more toward the "for sale by owner" types? what are the advantages/disadvantages of going with either one?
Also, how much would be "too much" to pay for a used car? I don't want to pay more than 10k for one if I can help it. How can I find good deals? Are there any reliable websites to check out? Any websites to avoid?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

mackinac

Old 01-16-2010, 05:11 PM

199 posts, read 591,604 times
1. Get Consumer Reports annual auto issue. Lots of helpful tips on how to shop for a used car.

2. If possible, ask a mechanic you know well, who can refer you to a quality dealership which has a rep for standing behind their vehicles, preferably with a limited warranty, at the very least on the engine and transmission.

3. It looks like certified used car programs are out of your price range, but I know that in the past Toyota and a number of luxury makes offered these programs which supposedly involve a detailed inspection of the vehicle along with quite impressive limited warranties.

It should be a buyer's market at this point, so take your time.

Old 01-16-2010, 06:12 PM