Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Dakota > Rapid City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2021, 07:57 AM

123 posts, read 215,931 times

Advertisements

Looking to relocate to a western state like SD, ND, Wyoming, Idaho, or Montana...a conservative state and community. Would have 3 children high school, middle school, elementary. Wife can work from anywhere.

I’m a PE teacher of 25 years (Teacher of the Year for our district) but not opposed to other work.

Questions:
1) Does the economy seem healthy in the area?

2) What are the public schools like? Thinking about for our children and for me as a teacher in terms of quality of the job, retirement, etc. I'm not a fan of unions. Wondering if SD is a right to work state.

3) what are the private schools like? Seems like there are several Christian schools, a rather large number for a town the size of RC. Is it safe to infer there's a healthy portion of conservative Christians in RC area? Again, thinking about for our children and for me as a teacher.

4) Can anyone compare the general feel of the community in RC to that of a typical midwestern city like Indianapolis or Columbus?

5) I've looked at climate data and have been to the area for a few days each of the past 5 summers, but what are the summers like in terms of humidity? Looks like it can get hot but if it's dry, it's way different and more comfortable than the high humidity we get here. Conversely, what are the winters like? Here we get very little snow, it's gray, and not much sun.