Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 02:29 AM

19 posts, read 24,077 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone,

We are an Indian family of three (DH, DD - 5years & myself) planning to move to NJ in 2017 spring/summers. Husband's job will be like he will be fiddling between downtown Jersey city, Weehawken and midtown Manhattan also. I am a finance professional so my best choices of jobs will be in manhattan. Both of us donot want door-to-door commute to work more than 1hour.

Keeping these factors in mind, we have shortlisted areas like Downtown Jersey city, Newport, Waterfront, Hoboken. But to my dissapointment the public schools are average to poor rated in these areas (as per greatschools website). So we are left with no choice but to look in for private schools. Non-catholic private schools are extremely expensive, so we are looking at Catholic schools.

My queries are :-
1) Being a non-catholic family how keen the catholic schools are to admit our daughter? Will my daughter get a fair chance based on her merit to be able to secure a seat in these schools?
2) Do catholic schools in NJ are diverse & accomodative towards non-catholic children?
3) Since we will be landing well past admission time for 2017-18 academic year, do these schools entertain applications for mid year admissions?
4) Overall any other things/facts I need to consider before choosing catholic education for my child?