Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-26-2023, 07:47 PM

142 posts, read 200,898 times

Advertisements

I dream so much it is like a movie reel playing all night in my sleep! My question is this:
Is this restful sleep or would it interfere with getting good restful sleep? Anybody know any researchon this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-26-2023, 10:33 PM

21,555 posts, read 8,737,989 times
I'm no sleep expert, but I believe that dreaming only happens when you are in the REM stage of sleep, which is the deepest. So no, vivid dreams don't mean you are not getting good sleep.

I know exactly what you mean about those "movie reel" types of dreams. It's like a different story every night, starring you. When you wake up, you realize that the things that seemed perfectly normal and logical during the dream don't make any sense at all. I actually look forward to my nightly journeys into the realm of the subconscious mind.

Old 12-26-2023, 10:40 PM

7,165 posts, read 4,567,553 times
You only dream in deep sleep. When I developed sleep apnea I quit dreaming where previously I had very vivid frequent dreams. Once I got on a cpap machine they came back. I have read that even though it feels like our dreams are long in reality they are short and we don’t dream all night long.

Old 12-27-2023, 06:29 PM