Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Exercise and Fitness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-28-2024, 04:36 PM

265 posts, read 238,705 times

Advertisements

Hello, I am looking for tips on swimming. A book recommendation for beginners would be ideal. I am new to swimming. I only know the freestyle stroke. I plan to stick with the freestyle stroke, until I improve. I currently do very few laps and I am seeking information on how to improve with swimming.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-29-2024, 10:37 AM

155 posts, read 229,301 times
Hi Mike,
I am a masters swim coach and competitive triathlete. I would suggest you look for a coached masters swim group in your area (assuming you are 18 or older.)
There’s a lot of resources online you can reference too, some you can send video of your stroke and technique to for advice and instruction.

Hope that helps

Old 02-29-2024, 11:09 AM

27,163 posts, read 43,857,618 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike2017 View Post
Hello, I am looking for tips on swimming. A book recommendation for beginners would be ideal. I am new to swimming. I only know the freestyle stroke. I plan to stick with the freestyle stroke, until I improve. I currently do very few laps and I am seeking information on how to improve with swimming.